Hi. I’m about to see a bunch of movies.

Hello person reading this. Once upon a time, in addition to the usual suspects-astronaut, professional hockey player, vexillologist-I desperately wanted to be a film critic when I grew up. One of my favorite things was, and still is, seeing movies in the theater. I like seeing all sorts of movies. But it can be super expensive, particularly nowadays.

So then I heard about this thing called MoviePass, which is like Netflix except with movie theaters. For a monthly fee, you can see 1 movie every 24 hours in participating theaters. MoviePass isn’t paying me anything to link to them, though I certainly wish they were.

MoviePass works like a debit card, so you pretty much use the app to ‘check in’ and indicate your intention to see a particular movie at a particular theater at a particular time. Then your debit card pass thingy gets activated for 30 minutes and you go buy your ticket in that window of time just like you would with a regular debit or credit card. Honestly, it’s pretty neat.  It also doesn’t hurt that I’m within walking distance to a theater and can check in to the theater from my apartment.  As I understand it, you need to be within 100 yards of a theater to activate the card and check in,  which I also understand is the normal distance for your average restraining order.

Long story short, I’m giving it a try. I’m using this MoviePass thing as an excuse to revisit my childhood dream of writing movie reviews. I realize that no one will actually be reading anything, given the plethora of actual film critics writing actual reviews. Or the plethora of interweb people writing actual reviews. Or the plethora of fake interweb people writing fake reviews. Either way, it’s an excuse to see a lot more movies than I normally would for less money that it otherwise would cost.

I see my first movie tonight: ‘Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice’. Looking forward to it. First review to follow.

Cheers,

Nuggets McGee

 

 

 

Leave a comment